ICBC awards $10,000 in scholarships

Since 1983, ICBC has helped improve the quality of care available in the province by awarding scholarships to students attending UBC�s School of Rehabilitation Sciences. This year, ICBC has awarded $10,000 to four students studying occupational and physical therapy.

Recognized for their academic achievement are Aaron Rizzardo, from Merritt; Kevin Perras, from Terrace; Darlene Asayo, from Abbotsford; and Davida Hoberg, from Vernon. Each of this year�s recipients was awarded $2,500 in scholarship funds.

�ICBC is committed to meeting the needs of all British Columbians who are injured in vehicle crashes. We want to build safer and more secure communities throughout the province and by providing rehabilitation science students with scholarships, ICBC is helping ensure future professionals are equipped to care for and serve our province,� said Jon McGrath, ICBC�s bodily injury services manager.

The scholarships are offered to students entering their fourth year in programs leading to a bachelor of science in occupational therapy or physical therapy. Candidates must have graduated from a B.C. secondary school that is outside the Greater Vancouver Regional District.

ICBC was the first North American auto insurance company to set up its own rehabilitation department. The department works with hospital personnel and appropriate community resources to develop the best possible rehabilitation program for individuals who have been severely injured in a crash.

More about ICBC at