Technology Awards (ICTAs) Technology Awards

ICTA Awards Home

ICTA Overview
2014 Finalists
2014 Winners

2014 Technology Conference
Registration Fees
ICTA Nominations

The ICTAs Technology Award ribbon

As computer and communications technologies evolve at ever-faster rates, so too do the innovative and beneficial uses of these technologies by participants in the insurance industry.

To highlight and celebrate the use of technologies that impact insurance, sponsors the Insurance Canada Technology Awards – the “ICTAs.” These were first awarded at the 8th annual P&C Insurance Technology Conference on February 22, 2010, and have been presented annually at ICTC since then.

Congratulations to the 2014 Technology Award winners! The awards were presented at ICTC 2014 on Monday, March 17. The winners will be featured in the April 2014 issue of Canadian Insurance Top Broker magazine.


To celebrate organizations in the Canadian Property and Casualty Insurance industry whose implementation and use of technology shows a significant impact on a process or group of processes used in the sale, processing and servicing of insurance in Canada.

Historically most business applications of technology were within a company. Today "multi-party business application implementations" are increasingly common. Both types are important; nominations of both are welcome.

Award Categories

The ICTAs recognize deserving applicants in three categories:

  • Insurers — companies licensed to underwrite business in Canada (includes reinsurers).
  • Distributors — companies licensed in Canada to distribute insurance underwritten by one or more insurers in Canada.
  • Suppliers — companies that supply insurance-related services (data, information, restorations, repairs, BPO, premium financing, underwriting or claims services, etc.) to Insurers and Distributors in Canada.

NOTE – Technology Providers: Those who provide technology to Insurers, Distributors or Suppliers, but who do not use the technology themselves for insurance purposes, are not eligible in the suppliers category. They are encouraged to nominate firms which do use their products.

Again this year, technology providers which are appropriately identified in the nomination, will automatically be recognized when the organization which uses their technology is recognized i.e. when notes nominees in any way, and with a corresponding ICTA plaque for a finalist or winner. In most cases, the primary technology provider should be noted in a nomination, although occasional exceptions may be made for two.

Award Criteria

The primary criterion for all awards is the positive impact that a specific technology or application of technology has had on business. Examples include:

  • Introduction of new technology that enhances customer satisfaction;
  • Utilization of technology to reduce costs or improve service;
  • Development of technology that serves a need not previously served by technology within the industry;
  • Innovative integration of technologies to reduce costs, improve service, or streamline processes;
  • Using the Internet for new functions like initiating on-line claims first notice of loss and claims inquiry for all channel partners;
  • Deploying new technologies – tablets, smart phones, social media – in creative ways;
  • Leadership within the industry or a subset on the development of standards or practices for the utilization of technologies (industry associations, user groups, etc.);
  • Use of technology to create new products or products with a difference (telematics/UBI);
  • New approaches to identifying or preventing fraud (analytics);
  • Integration of new information or data into the claims or underwriting and rating functions.

Nomination Process

See our ICTA Nominations page for nomination details and application forms, or read about the adjudication process.

Past Winners



Consumer Information
Other Products

Industry Information
Policy Admin
Social Business
HR & Jobs
Special Products

What's New
About Us
Marketing Services
Ad Specs
Contact Us
Site Map

Technology Conference
Technology Awards
The Intersection Blog
The Chronicle Newsletter